Writing?…..I’d rather be gaming

27 Jun

I had a few days off the other week so I started drafting out a new short story. Though I never got chance to draft the climax of the story I did get most of it written (hurrah!) Something of a miracle for me as my creative output, despite my dreams, is generally zero. It seems that  the closer I am to my actual job the less able I am to write. Could it be retail is killing my creativity?

I just can’t focus after work and there never seems to be enough time. I swear I get in, get a cup of tea, wash my hair, have my tea by which time I’m then winding down ready for bedtime before it start all over again. I know, boring right?!

So anyway. I’m off work this week on the old holiday this week not going anywhere until the weekend so have I been writing? working hard? No I’ve been gaming! Yeah I’ve returned to White knight chronicles II, which I never finished.

I’m trying to be good today and type up my first draft, which is frequently painfully bad! I want to get a chunk of it typed up before I go back to my game but despite not being at work I feel completely unmotivated in the writing department and I am questioning whether it is really a path I want to pursue anymore.

That’s partly why I like gaming it’s great for releasing stress, you can just grab a big sword and beat on some monsters, fun times. There is something quite amusing about seeing a small (you can pick their height) RPG character beating hell out of something with a massive sword! Best of all my character is a female, brilliant, that’s something that lacks in a lot of other types of games. Totally sexist and should be addressed.

Anyway that’s a enough procrastinating from me, I should be working…or gaming

4 Responses to “Writing?…..I’d rather be gaming”

  1. csbarielle June 27, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    Gaming is sexist when it comes to major lead characters. Lara Croft being the only one I can think of.

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords June 28, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      I would have liked the new assassin’s creed to go for a female assassin this time but nooo. I tried tomb raider before but never finished it. I have played a few female characters. RPG games let you choose the sex and look of your avatar and I often play with an all female team just because I’ve given them the skills I need for particular missions. I played rogue ops on the old Xbox back in the day that was a female lead and Deus ex: Invisible war you could choose to be a man or a woman. One bloke once said to me that he wouldn’t enjoy a game where he had to play a female character. Which is fair enough but the same is true for us we don’t always want to play men, you should be able to choose. Obviously if there is a script reason it has to be one or the other that’s fine and movie tie in games are restricted. Then again is that because most movie heroes are men? I guess because male gamers are still seen as out numbering female gamers that’s where the money is going.

      Like

      • csbarielle June 28, 2013 at 4:57 pm #

        Actually female gamers are almost at 50% (according to BBC Breakfast a short while ago), so you would think the developers would actually create more female characters.

        The good thing about the Tomb Raider reboot, is that the lead writer on this new game is a woman; and it appears that women have had a hand in redeveloping Lara Croft to be more “normal” instead of big bummed, big boobed and not much else! But I agree, we do need a choice in characters; I don’t want to play as a man either that much, which is why I love Skyrim; I create my own character (female) and explore to my heart’s content 🙂

        Like

  2. daydreaminginwords July 1, 2013 at 11:53 am #

    Maybe game writers know, or suspect that women are more prepared to play male characters than men are to play female characters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

