Writer’s block or a lack of talent?

17 Jul

Today I am attempting to finish, or at least make progress on two of the short stories I started a while back. My plan was to write a small collection of ghost stories set in the Victorian era. I had hoped once I had 3 of 4 to publish them on Kindle for a few pence just to get something out there.

Now I’m re-reading and editing and trying desperately to give my stories endings. The problem being the more I look at my work the more I think nobody other than me could ever love my stories. To publish on Kindle is to generate reviews and all I can see is one or two 1 star reviews saying how awful my work is. In short I am having an attack of self doubt.

The more books I read the less confident I feel about my own writing. I feel that I lack the skill of a good writer, heck I think I lack the skill of a mediocre writer. To me, my ideas are stale and my style is clumsy. I cannot get past the idea that, as attached as I am to my stories, that they aren’t something other people would enjoy reading. Now this may well be nerves about putting myself out there creatively, it may be the perfectionist in me but what if it’s not? What if I’m right and I a really am a bad writer? What do you do if you really are supremely bad at the only thing you dream of doing?

What do you do when your dreams are just delusion, aloof and unattainable? I feel like those people who make a fool of themselves on talent shows because their family didn’t have the nerve to tell them they were rubbish!

4 Responses to “Writer’s block or a lack of talent?”

  1. cassandracharles July 17, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    Self doubt has reared its ugly head.
    Are you afraid of failing? In the end, you’ll never know unless you put something out there. It’s the only way…
    I’m a perfectionist, too. My aim is to strive for perfection but realise you’ll never be able to obtain it…
    Good Luck with your endeavours. Don’t let self doubt defeat you.

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords July 17, 2013 at 2:07 pm #

      Thanks for the comment 🙂 Yes I am afraid of failing, in a very public way! Perhaps if I can overcome the barrier of putting my work out there for the first time it will get easier. I hope!

      Like

      • cassandracharles July 17, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

        I haven’t published anything, but i think it’s the only way.
        At least you’ll know…

        Like

      • daydreaminginwords July 17, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

        Very true, I do my best to ignore the voice of doubt. Good luck with your publishing ventures too. The first steps are always the hardest.

        Like

Leave a Reply

