Guilty Pleasure Part 3-Sherlock Holmes

22 Jul

I have blogged about my of Sherlock Holmes before, here is the link for those of you who haven’t read it: https://daydreaminginwords.wordpress.com/2013/01/31/sherlock-holmes/ So rather than cover old territory I just wanted to add a few photos. They are photo’s that I took on the two occasions when I visited the Sherlock Holmes Museum in London http://www.sherlock-holmes.co.uk/home.htm I wont show the entire museum because that would spoil the fun for those who wish to go.

The first time I went I was with someone who wasn’t a Holmes fan and they thought I was a bit weird because I was in my element. That’s why Holmes is a guilty pleasure. When I was younger it wasn’t something my age group was in to. Victorian literature wasn’t high on the average school kids agenda. Obviously by the time I was in my 20’s I was still living away from the mainstream. I just really enjoy the beauty of Victorian language and the idea of a crime being solved entirely with intelligence in the days before DNA testing and computer databases and internet search engines!

Sherlock Holmes museum entrance

Sherlock Holmes museum entrance

The Sherlock Holmes Museum at 221b Baker Street, London

The Sherlock Holmes Museum at 221b Baker Street, London

Sidney Paget's chair

The original chair used by Sidney Paget to illustrate a seated Sherlock Holmes in the Greek Interpreter. Now on display in the Sherlock Holmes Museum at 221b Baker Street, London

Sidney Paget's chair side view

Sidney Paget’s chair side view

Leave a Reply

