Waiting And Stressing

1 Oct

I’m writing this quick blog post to share my current mood and distract me. I’m feeling on edge again, because I’m still waiting to hear from the Doctor’s surgery. The Doctor Is supposed to be speaking to the counsellor today about the confusion over my referral. I think she said she would speak to her this evening. Evening appointments end at 6pm and I’ve not heard anything yet. Maybe she’ll call me after surgery finishes? But the doctor finishes at 5.30pm ahhhh

I’m really hoping to get this cleared up this evening so I know where I stand. waiting and phone calls both make me anxious so waiting for a phone call is really uncomfortable!

I hope it doesn’t drag on past tonight because the original appointment is scheduled for Monday so it needs cancelling and sorting ASAP.  The thought of having to drag myself to counselling every week and actually having counselling is scary and stressful enough without this added pressure. Some days I feel like I’m going to pop.

Oh well, that’s the latest update in my on going saga.

11 Responses to “Waiting And Stressing”

  1. sensuousamberville October 1, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    Distract yourself by doing something you like to do, read some blogs, make some comments. It will work out. Once you start, the trip to the office will not be as daunting, and most councilors/therapists don’t bite. Some are quite friendly. 😉

    *hugs*

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords October 1, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

      huum only the doc never rang and she’s not on again this week, so now I have no idea if the appointment has been cancelled or not. I don’t want to get taken off the list because I didn’t turn up to my appointment. But I don’t want to ring up if the Doctor is already on it because that will annoy the doc if she goes to do it and I’ve already done it when I said I’d wait to hear. You see my dilemma. I just need to know what’s going on!

      Like

      • sensuousamberville October 1, 2013 at 6:52 pm #

        phone and ask the receptionist. They will likely know. No one will be annoyed if you call.

        Like

      • daydreaminginwords October 1, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

        I have to ring up about my blood tests this week anyway, so I might ask then, but the receptionists never know anything over here. There’d probably be no point alas 😦 So I’m going to leave it a couple of days and If I haven’t heard I’ll ring the mental health place that sent me the letter and confirm that I’m not going. I must learn not to stress what I can’t change. So annoyed, the Doctor knows making phone calls and unresolved problems make me anxious. It’s as if they are trying to make me ill.

        Like

      • sensuousamberville October 1, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

        That is one thing you will learn, Not to stress over what you can’t change.

        perhaps it is all arranged and they will let you know in the morning, perhaps it happened after hours and it is their off time now. lots of perhap’ses to consider. (tis fun to make up words)

        I am sure it will work out, they know what is better for you.

        Like

      • daydreaminginwords October 1, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

        Well if they don’t call I’ll just leave a message on Thursday after work to confirm I wont be attending and that my Doctor should be rearranging things. I know it sounds silly but I find little things like this very distressing. Small things that break my routine or I can’t resolve immediately or are inconvenient provoke this really over emotional response like my body is in crisis mode.

        Like

      • sensuousamberville October 1, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

        it doesn’t sound silly at all.

        Like

      • daydreaminginwords October 1, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

        It feels silly. I get so angry with myself for feeling this way. I feel so stupid. I can’t even function like a normal person. It’s very frustrating. Sorry ranting again. Thanks for the advise 🙂

        Like

      • sensuousamberville October 1, 2013 at 7:30 pm #

        Don’t get angry with yourself either. not stupid. anxiety is very powerful, understand that. The what if’s will torment you. You will learn how to whittle them down, so that they can be dealt with. When to worry and when not to. You have taken the first step, seeking help, there will be lots more steps, but they will become easier too. You will become more powerful. tis just time now. so not angry with yourself, but forgiving.

        Like

      • daydreaminginwords October 1, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

        I just wish they weren’t making this harder for me by making all these mistakes before I even get treatment. I’m having second thoughts about this

        Like

      • sensuousamberville October 1, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

        Carefully express how this is a strong trigger for you to them, when you next talk. Calmly. Then they may try harder to avoid it. Often we assume, on both sides, this leaves one in the dark wondering.

        Like

Leave a Reply

