Trying To Get Back To Writing

8 Oct

Well after the events of the past couple of week I’m trying to get back on track with my writing.  I’m trying to be positive and to stop sabotaging myself. Easier said than done though eh? My aim is still to put maybe four short stories together in a Kindle book

I’m starting with editing the three stories that I already have to make them as good as they can be and hope that inspires me to write number four. I’m feeling a bit devoid of ideas though. I did have a story number four in mind but I cut my losses and abandoned it because I felt it just wasn’t working , insert metaphor about a dead horse here.

So I need a new story number four. Four seems like a good number.

I’m also wondering about a new project. I’ve returned to the idea of fantasy but I’m not sure where to go with it. My readers will know that I was a big fan of the TV show Merlin. There was something in the atmosphere of the show which struck a cord with me. It’s got knights, sorcery, mythical beings and castles not to mention some bad ass eyeliner! Obviously some of that is down to lighting and music etc but it’s also very character driven. It had the kind of feel I’d like to create.

Also if you compare it to A Game Of Thrones for example it’s actually pretty clean cut. OK you can call me a prude if you like and you probably will; as much as I like A Game Of Thrones – and I do-  It is quite heavy on sexual content. Now it is no doubt handy to know who is sleeping with who in the story but I don’t need a detailed description of the act every time, it’s not necessary and it slows up the story which is already getting rather unwieldy.

I often get little bits of ideas floating around in my head, inspirations from myths or history but nothing that I could see expanding or combining to make a novel length story. It’s the same problem I’ve been struggling with since I decided I wanted to write. So it set me wondering:

Could I use a set of characters to tell an interconnected series of short stories in the manner of episodes? Thereby creating a kind of myth cycle? Arthurian legend after all isn’t one big story, it’s a collection of tales from a host of characters.

It’s something to think about

Opinions in the box below please 🙂

One Response to “Trying To Get Back To Writing”

  1. thecallofdestiny October 9, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

    Firstly – I’m excited to have found your blog! I’m an avid writer and a Merlin fan as well, so I’m excited to read more.

    As to your question – yes, absolutely! I’m in the midst of crafting a mini series of stories myself. I am so enjoying developing each character, along with their story and world. And I’m definitely looking forward to that chapter when I can finally weave all of their stories together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

