Late Night Writing

12 Oct

I’ve spent this week staring blankly at a screen, trying to squeeze out one sentence at a time; the words won’t flow and the internet poses a never ending distraction. So last night, or rather this morning, I resorted to doing something I used to do from time to time during creative writing courses with the OU: late night writing. At midnight instead of going to sleep I switched on the computer and continued my story.

Sometimes I find it easier this way. Perhaps it’s because my brain is shutting down for the night and less likely to be distracted. It can feel a bit like my inner editor has clocked off for the night and I’m free to just write. Sometimes it’s a bit stream of consciousness and needs tidying up but it helps. Of course it isn’t usually possible because I work and can’t afford to stay up until 2 o’clock in the morning.

Does anyone else find this technique works for them?

Leave a Reply

