First Blog Of The New Year

6 Jan

It’s been a long time since my last blog post. I was going through some stuff and decided to take a break because I just couldn’t get into the blogging zone. Now I have no idea really how to start again.

I’ve been trying to write some more short stories with an aim of publishing a collection on Kindle in April. However I am still struggling to write. It sounds strange but it’s like there’s a bit of my brain sabotaging me. I’m starting to see how the clergyman felt in Green Tea (J.S Le Fanu.)
Am I the only person who massively frightened at the prospect of self employment and all the tax returns and form filling in? Not only that but having to obtain a US tax number and fill out more forms to stop the Americans taking 30% off my US royalties, assuming anybody even buys the book.
  • Can you opt out of selling on the US site?
  • Can I not bother and just stump up the 30% to save myself the hassle?

Truth is I’m not very clever with paperwork and forms. I get very stressed and upset easily. Then I get paranoid that I’ll make a mistake and HMRC or the IRS will come after me. That may sound paranoid but the whole thing actually terrifies me. The whole thing makes me want to curl up and die.

All in all not very conducive to a pleasurable writing experience. Now I’m scared of actually finishing the book.

Leave a Reply

