The Triumph Of The Blank Page

21 Jan

Did you ever have one of those days when you sat down to write and went ‘I’ve got nothing!’ Well that was me today. I’ve spent the day looking at my computer screen, attempting to continue a story and I just can’t get my words to flow. I struggled to get the first line down because everything I wrote sounded wrong.

Then I realised I needed to check a fact. So I did, but the words still weren’t coming. I went for food and a drink and tried again; still not happening. I’ve listened to relaxation music to keep me calm and focussed but now I’m just sleepy. I think I’m just in the wrong mood and I’m trying to force it.

I have things on my mind and they are effecting my mood and I think that’s getting in the way. This is so frustrating because I really wanted to get the bulk of this story done before going back to work on Thursday.

Perhaps I’ll take a leaf out of my characters’ book and have some tea and all will be well again.

6 Responses to “The Triumph Of The Blank Page”

  1. SarahClare January 21, 2014 at 8:29 pm #

    Oh I can totally relate to this.

    I recently read some advice in a writing magazine that you should set yourself a goal to write a little each day. Even if it’s a sentence, or a paragraph. Sounds easy!

    But then I open the document and stay at the blinking cursor until I’m hypnotized by it.

    If real life stuff is making me feel icky then I know I have no chance of writing anything.. But that doesn’t take away the guilt, or the feeling that I’m wasting time.

    Gerr duunnn!

    Good luck with it. For reals. 🙂

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords January 22, 2014 at 12:48 am #

      Hi, thanks for reading. It’s true I always feel guilty about not writing. Then I start thinking about how little time I have left that day to write then I can’t write because I’m too worried. The whole things ridiculous isn’t it.

      Like

      • SarahClare January 22, 2014 at 12:53 am #

        Totally! I usually go through a vicious cycle of ‘I can’t write anything… I can’t write anything good… I can’t write anything good ever again…

        …ooh! 5 words! Nope. *highlight and delete* I can’t write anything…’

        D:

        Like

      • daydreaminginwords January 22, 2014 at 12:57 am #

        Lol that sounds so like me. I guess we’re all in the same boat. Now if we can just find the oars….

        Like

      • SarahClare January 22, 2014 at 12:58 am #

        Or a freakin’ motor!!

        Like

  2. csbarielle January 22, 2014 at 6:26 pm #

    I know the feeling well! This week, I have attempted to set time to just write, but when I turn on the laptop and stare at the screen, my mind sort of just wipes itself and I’m left staring at nothing. Your other commentor has the right idea : write anything, even if it is only a paragraph. The trouble is, what to write!!

    So… I go back to researching, brainstorming and relaxing on the xbox in the hope that the brain wakes up and starts making my ideas into stories. Chin up, as you English would say. Just be patient and it WILL come. Just don’t try and rush it, your brain will only rebel. Like mine 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

