Reading vs Writing

9 Feb

I met some friends yesterday for coffee and accidentally bought two books. Well it could happen to anyone; in fact it happened to all three of us. Now I’ve got a little collection of books that I want to be reading but, and here’s the problem, I really need to get on with finishing my own book if I’m going to make my self imposed deadline.

How are you supposed to get that balance between reading and writing? Reading is important for a writer but if you spend too much time doing it you leave no time for your own writing. Does anyone else have this problem?

 

4 Responses to “Reading vs Writing”

  1. SarahClare February 9, 2014 at 2:39 pm #

    All I do is read at the moment. Partly because I’m nearing the end of my degree, so reading is important. But I’ve always got a book on the go. I guess I try to leave reading to when I can’t write. So I’ll read a book in the bath, or take it with me to waiting rooms etc. I’m terrible for reading in bed.. and reading.. and reading.. and oh! It’s 3am already..

    I ask myself: Could I be writing right now?

    My answer: Yes. BUT THIS BOOK IS TOO GOOD TO PUT DOWN!

    Lols. It’s a difficult balance.

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords February 9, 2014 at 6:40 pm #

      It is! Especially when your stuck with your own writing. It’s tempting to just give up and read someone else’s.

      Like

  2. Annabel Sketchley February 9, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

    I think taking moments to write help focus ones mind:)

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords February 9, 2014 at 6:41 pm #

      I must admit I’m finding it difficult to focus on writing at the moment. Which is probably why reading is looking so appealing right now lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

