The Art Of Positive Thinking?

21 Feb

I am, what most people would describe as, a pessimist. I have always preferred the term realist, as going by experience, if something crappy can happen, it generally will. Expecting the worst means you are seldom disappointed; you get the idea.

Well now that at the ripe old age of 30 I have decided that actually I am going to try this writing business as a real job, all be it a secondary one for now, I realise that this attitude has to go. Yes positive thinking may lead to more heartbreak but if it leads to something good too then surely it’s worth it? If I can finish my book and be happy with it and actually put it out there, then I’ve proved to myself that I’ve got the nerve to do something which scares me, that I can see something through even though it’s hard.

I want to put a little me shaped hole in the world. I want to be able to look back and say: that was me. I did that; I took the chance and I did it. In short I want to do something different, maybe extraordinary (for me), I want to prove that there is something more to me than just my day job.

I’m intrigued at the moment by the idea of cosmic ordering. Bear with me, please, hear me out. I might be a pessimist but I am also quite open minded. The basic idea seems to be that there are universal energies at work which we can call on or channel in order to fulfil our deepest wishes, like a cosmic shopping list if you will. Now I’m not saying I necessarily believe in universal energies, before anyone says anything, but again I’m open minded; however the concept seems to hinge on your belief that once you’ve placed your cosmic order you will get it. That is what intrigues me; whether or not you believe the universe is responsible for your good fortune or not, it all seems to be about positive thinking. It could be argued that the fact that you are focused on the positive outcome means you are channelling your energies into making it happen, you are more focused and committed so you make it happen. You can Google it if you want to know more.

Either way it’s all about positivity. Problem is I’m not very good at positive thinking. How can you break the habit of a lifetime? Well I can but try. So in the spirit of endeavour I’ve made my little ‘cosmic shopping list’ and I’m going to focus on making my dreams a reality.

Out of interest has anyone tried cosmic ordering? What are your experiences? Or perhaps you have tips on positive thinking and keeping negative thoughts at bay?

2 Responses to “The Art Of Positive Thinking?”

  1. Harliqueen February 21, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

    I haven’t tried cosmic ordering, though it sounds interesting. I am like you, I can be a major realist, I don’t fluff about things trying to think they will turn out well. But now I am writing too, it is a good thing to try and think more positive (even if it is hard to break the habit of always being pessimistic!), having more hope that all will turn out well and look to a bright future!

    Good luck with your writing journey 🙂

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords February 21, 2014 at 1:54 pm #

      Thank you, and yours too. With a bit of positive thinking I’m sure we will get where we want to be 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

