Finding Inspiration In The Past

5 Mar

In light of my recent upsets I have been trying to relax and distract myself with the things I like to do just for fun; so I decided to start looking at my local and family history again. I bought myself a years subscription to the British Newspaper Archive and started looking up my ancestors again 😀 . I found a few stories before and I’ve added a few to my collection. I’ve mentioned the archive before but if you’re interested in local or family history it’s a brilliant resource. Of course if you find your family in the news, like I did, it wont necessarily be because they are a pillar of the community and an all ’round good egg 😉

It feels so strange reading about the village I live in a hundred and more years ago. This village now has no industry and is really starting to look like a retirement village. Most young people don’t stay here and most sure as heck can’t afford to buy their own home. So when I read about the village in the Victorian age it’s like a different world. There was so much going on. High birth rates and sadly high infant death rates; people living in the same village cradle to grave. There were inns and coaching houses every couple of yards. There were thriving businesses and so many industries. It’s such a quite little village on the whole, industry isn’t the first thing that springs to mind when you look at it.

I found myself imagining how different life must have been here then. How different the landscape was, what the people looked like. I’m beginning to wonder if I could carve a story out of some of these old historical accounts. I don’t mean a true life, non fiction book. I mean a fiction book inspired by the people and events that shaped this village and their apparently frequent misdemeanours. Maybe I could use it as the backdrop for a Victorian gothic novella?

I do feel a little bit nosey reading these articles, like I’m spying on my ancestors. Due to my issues with travelling etc I’m reliant on online records and transcripts to do my family history research. I’ve been making use of family search lately but I still haven’t managed to trace my 4x great-grandfather. Where did he come from? He’s seems to have just appeared in the village and with no birth certificates in the 1700’s I can’t find him. The only likely candidate I had found in parish registers, I’ve discounted so I have a mystery on my hands. Maybe I can make this mysterious arrival into a plot point?

Have you ever researched your family tree? Ever found anything interesting? Have you ever used history which is close to you to inspire your work?

4 Responses to “Finding Inspiration In The Past”

  1. chmjr2 March 6, 2014 at 3:40 pm #

    To work on genealogy one must be nosey. Also history or my love of history has always inspire me.

    Like

  2. Harliqueen March 7, 2014 at 2:00 pm #

    Great post. I’ve always been interested in finding out more about my family history, but it’s finding the time! 😀

    I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award, if you’d like to participate :)http://awriterslifeformeblog.wordpress.com/2014/03/07/liebster-award/

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords March 7, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

      Thank you! Yes I’ll participate, as soon as I think of some good questions/answers and nominees 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

