Liebster Award

8 Mar

liebster

A writer’s life for me was kind enough to nominate me for the Liebster Award. The award is to introduce people to new blogs and blogs to new audiences.

So the rules are:

Link back to the blogger who nominated you
Answer the 10 questions which are given to you by your nominator
Nominate 5 to 11 other bloggers with fewer than 400 followers.
Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them

My answers:

1.Who is your favourite author and why?

Oh ‘eck………I don’t know that I have a favourite author. M.R James springs to mind; but I like Conan Doyle because I love Holmes I used to read a lot of Agatha Christie novels. I also like J.S Le Fanu. I like ghost stories, and detective stories to some extent. Probably because I like a mystery to solve.

2. Do you have a favourite type of character?

One who has a sense of humour and isn’t a push over.

3. Is there a part of writing that you struggle with and want to improve?

All of it! I’m never happy with my writing and I always struggle. I find coming up with a full plot really hard; that’s why I’m still writing short stories. One day I want to write a novel. So I’d say plot is my biggest struggle.

4. Apart from writing, what are you most passionate about?

I love history. I’m just a big geek. The last couple of years I’ve got into family history research. Also love reading (obviously.) I’m pretty passionate about my guilty pleasure too. Follow the link in the side bar 😉

5. Favourite colour?

Ummm, purple, no blue, teal aghhhhhhhhh *gets thrown in to the gorge of eternal peril* (someone out there will get that reference.) 😉

6. Are you currently working on anything? e.g. Novel, novella, short story, poem, etc.

I’m attempting to write a collection of short ghost stories set in the Victorian era, written in the style of a Victorian book. It’s my first writing project. Wish me luck!

7. Do you remember your favourite childhood book?

Um no. Didn’t have that many books that I remember. We had a few second hand Enid Blyton books though which I liked despite being a working class child! Maybe that was the start of my liking for old literature? I read the complete Sherlock Holmes collection as a young teen, so probably that if that counts as childhood? (Early childhood was spent with Marshall Cavendish Storyteller audio collection, remember those?)

8. Have you ever cried over a book? If so, which one?

Not that I remember.

9. Your favourite song of the moment?

I must admit I haven’t listened to any songs in quite a while! I don’t think I have a current favourite, sorry.

10. Is there anything you do particularly to get inspiration for writing?

Read, trawl old newspapers, considering pillaging history and folklore if I continue writing after this project.

So my nominees are:

  1. Trials of a wanna-be-published writer
  2. A bit behind on books
  3. Tall tales
  4. Thewriterscafe247
  5. The Annabel Diaries

My 10 questions are:

  1. What’s your favourite genre of fiction
  2. If you could be an observer in any time period, when and where would you choose?
  3. If the Tardis landed in your garden and the Doctor asked you to go with him, would you?
  4. Read any good books lately?
  5. Do you have a favourite character in a book, if so who is it?
  6. What’s your guilty pleasure?
  7. If you could have anyone from history over for dinner who would you choose?
  8. Favourite food?
  9. What are your hobbies?
  10. What was your favourite subject at school?

Well there we go all done!

3 Responses to “Liebster Award”

  1. Harliqueen March 8, 2014 at 7:43 pm #

    Great answers 😀

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords March 8, 2014 at 7:48 pm #

      Thank you. I’m hopeless at answering questions I can never think of anything lol

      Like

  2. heatherbcosta March 9, 2014 at 7:43 pm #

    Thank you for the nomination! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

