When What You Write Is Wrong

29 Apr

I’ve been feeling somewhat disillusioned with my writing lately. I get an idea but no idea how to turn into a written story. The words don’t flow, instead I have to drag each of them out one at a time on to the page. I think this is at the root of the problem I’m noticing when reading back the completed stories.

The pacing feels wrong. I feel like the conclusion is often reached too quickly. The stories feel like a beginning and an ending with no middle.For example in most of my stories the action is taking place in a single night of my characters lives. Is this too quick? or are stories more atmospheric when the character is subjected to prolonged suffering?

The other thing that worries me about my stories is that they are just too predictable. I am concerned that they are too obvious, in a been there done that type of way. I suppose what I’m trying to say is that I think they lack originality. They don’t feel scary enough or atmospheric enough.

I suppose I have this fear that my writing is more like something an eight year old would read than an adult fan of supernatural fiction. Ideally I want my writing to be sophisticated and well crafted not look like something a child would knock out in a creative writing exercise at school.

It doesn’t help that other writers seem to have no difficulty in these areas they write thousands of words a day, always have plenty of ideas and brim with confidence. Whereas I am lucky if I write dozens of words in a day. Other self published authors have put out two novels in the time I’ve spent trying to write my first book, which isn’t even a novel it’s only a short story collection.

I took a break from writing, including the blog, because I needed to take a step back and just relax for a while. Now I’m looking at my writing again and trying to see and ending to this seemingly never ending project! I’m feeling nervous about when it actually goes out into the world. Reviewers don’t tend to go easy on a book they don’t like (assuming anyone reads it) and that adds to the pressure to make it good. To be honest I’m not sure I’ll ever be happy with my work but there’ll come a time when I’ll have to say ‘I’ve done my best and now I have to let it go.’

4 Responses to “When What You Write Is Wrong”

  1. aliynflynn April 29, 2014 at 1:58 pm #

    It’s hard to swim through the ocean of doubt that writers have. It can squash any attempt to be creative.. Even if you just put that doubt aside for a little while to write what comes to you, no matter how you think it is, you will find more momentum. Forget about the reviewers for now and focus on your world. It will come. Don’t get discouraged. 🙂

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords April 29, 2014 at 2:12 pm #

      Thank you. I am one of those people who looks at other writers work and feels discouraged rather than inspired. Artistic temperament.I don’t think creativity comes naturally to me but it’s something that I love nevertheless. 🙂

      Like

  2. Harliqueen April 30, 2014 at 12:24 pm #

    I think doubting yourself is what makes you strive to become better, but as writers I don’t think anyone will ever be happy with their own work or ever think it is ‘finished’ 😀

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords April 30, 2014 at 12:36 pm #

      I think this is true. Especially when, if you’re someone like me, you lack confidence in general.

      Like

Leave a Reply

