A Milestone -Of Sorts

30 Apr

After much stressing and worrying I have finally finished the first draft of my latest short story. O.K it’s only a small milestone but it’s still once less hurdle. The problem is I can rewrite it and tidy it up and make it more atmospheric BUT, I’m still concerned that the ending is just too predictable. Is a predictable ending necessarily a bad thing?

This is the difficult I’m finding with supernatural fiction, it’s hard to be original. That’s why I admire M.R James’ work so much, his stories are spooky but they aren’t cliché ghost stories. In fact the big spooky element often isn’t a ghost at all but something weirder or more undefined. That’s something that I haven’t mastered yet and maybe never will.

Still one step at a time.

2 Responses to “A Milestone -Of Sorts”

  1. Harliqueen May 1, 2014 at 12:32 pm #

    You should celebrate every achievement, no matter how small you think it is, you have still achieved it! 🙂

    Like

  2. daydreaminginwords May 13, 2014 at 11:55 am #

    Thank you. Sorry for the late response I didn’t see this comment before because my spam folder ate it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

