Self Rejection And The Quest For Originality

21 May

The dawning realisation that in the time other people have written two novels I have produced 5 short stories (86 pages)  and three openings with no stories, has prompted me to take up my pen. I promised myself I would self publish this year and with the prospect of Open University study looming in October the pressure is on.

I’m trying to write a spooky story set in a book shop. You’d think that would be right up my street, but no. I’m struggling and spent most of yesterday staring at a screen or a notebook. I think I was blanker  than the screen. Eventually I had a vague idea and started writing. Today though looking over my jottings I think it’s utter rubbish. I know people say, you’re your own worst critic. However it’s more than that. What’s the point in writing a story I don’t like?

Part of the problem is I’m trying to get away from the “ghost” story and do something more unusual and original. OK I know there’s not much that’s truly original in supernatural fiction but who want’s to read an entire book where every story has a ghost seeking revenge or lamenting? I know I always refer to M.R James but when you look at his stories not very many are “ghost” stories in that sense; they are supernatural, yes, but not ghostly, necessarily.

So here I am stuck in a loop, going around in circles looking for ideas and rejecting them all.  Now I’m off to try out another idea.

2 Responses to “Self Rejection And The Quest For Originality”

  1. Harliqueen May 21, 2014 at 11:32 am #

    I think, if you don’t enjoy what you write then it won’t have that extra bit of ‘oomph’ 😀 But you got to write what you want!

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords May 21, 2014 at 11:35 am #

      Exactly, I think if you don’t like it then neither will your readers. It’s just finding that idea that you’re happy with and think ‘yeah this works!’

      Like

Leave a Reply

