When It Comes To Books, Is Bigger Better?

30 May

When I first decided I wanted to publish my work I was going to publish it just as an eBook. With this as my aim I decided on three short stories to make up my book. Then I decided it was going to be a paperback and that meant it needed to be longer. In paperback format it would be more of a pamphlet than a book if it only had three stories. Since then I have been working to get enough stories to make a respectably sized book.

At the moment I’m working on story number six. It doesn’t sound like many for the amount of time it’s taken ,but I’ve never been a quick writer and I’ve had a lot to contend with. I had intended to do more, but I’m starting to feel that I want to move on from this project. I don’t want to keep ploughing on with the same project until I lose interest, it’ll only come across in my work. Besides I’m really testing the water with this project; there’s no point forcing myself to continue writing something for the sake of making the book bigger when I don’t know yet how people will feel about my stories. I can always do another collection later if I feel this one is received well enough.

I’m hoping once this latest story is completed the book will come out at around 130-140 pages; at least, that’s what I’m hoping for. I might change my mind and get to seven stories, as I have a few half formed ideas and drafts floating around. But unless I get a more fully formed plot for them they probably wont make this collection.

How do you feel about the size of books? Does the size matter less when it’s a collection of short stories than it does in a novella/novel?

I suppose I could just make the font larger 😛

3 Responses to “When It Comes To Books, Is Bigger Better?”

  1. SarahClare May 31, 2014 at 1:33 pm #

    I think it can depend on a lot of things – Do you have an overall theme for the stories? Because then you can easily make a collection longer without losing your reader. Because I think that’s the danger with short stories – you have such a small window to capture your reader’s attention- and you gotta make sure that first one is a blinder! Because we’re lazy and judgemental by nature, as human beings.

    Have you tried submitting your stories to literary magazines or competitions? It’s a nice way to get them into print without having to push a whole collection.

    It’s an ambitious undertaking! And I wish you all the luck with it! I’m sure you’ll come up tops.

    🙂

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords May 31, 2014 at 6:19 pm #

      No I’ve never submitted my work, I’m not sure where would take it!. The book has a theme. I’ve tried to create stories not only set in the Victorian era but that feel as though they could have been written then. This is a project that started as a personal challenge to myself. If other people enjoy it too then that’s bonus. 😀

      Like

      • SarahClare May 31, 2014 at 6:42 pm #

        And that’s definitely the best attitude when going into writing methinks. As long as you, the writer, enjoy the ride then others are sure to follow suit! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

