The Final Hurdle

7 Jun

I promised myself that when I finished the story I’m writing I’d finally get my book published. Only problem is now I can’t finish it. My mind has gone blank and suddenly there seems to be a million other things to think about which are far more important and urgent, like obsessively checking my emails and social media and choosing and ordering a new camera.

I think it’s my subconscious delaying things. It knows that once it’s finished I will then have to jump into all the self employment stuff which scares me so much and I’ve been avoiding for so long. Besides I’m scared that my stories aren’t good enough. It’s hard to know as I only have my own opinion to go on and as my opinion can’t be relied on when it comes to me, I’m very confused. My low self esteem sometimes makes me judge myself too harshly. So I don’t know if my work is actually poor or whether I’m being too critical of myself.

3 Responses to “The Final Hurdle”

  1. Sierra June 8, 2014 at 4:32 pm #

    Get some beta readers so you can verify whether your book is good or not haha.

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords June 8, 2014 at 4:57 pm #

      Unfortunately I don’t have anyone who can do that for me. I think it’s difficult for friends to be honest in case they hurt your feelings. That’s why I put snippets on the blog as I go along, in the hope of getting honest feedback.

      Like

      • Sierra June 8, 2014 at 5:04 pm #

        Friends are not good beta readers anyway. If you want an honest opinion, it’s best to solicit that of someone whose input you respect and is worth something because they’re not afraid to hurt feelings (which is partly the writer’s problem – people are gonna tell you something sucks; expect it and move on).

        So, yeah, not friends.

        Like

Leave a Reply

