Self Promotion

23 Jul

Well, I’ve proof read my book. I had proofread the individual stories before, but this time round I still found a couple of missing full stops etc. Now I’ve sent it to a couple of friends who have promised to read it and give me their opinions before I go to print. Hopefully they will also point out any punctuation or grammatical errors I’ve missed. I hope they don’t take too long because I’m so tense! 😉

Now that I’m in the waiting stage, I’ve turned my thoughts to promotion. I fins the whole thing a bit embarrassing to be honest. Trying to persuade people to buy my book when I’m not even sure it’s any good! I know; I’m my own worst critic.

I’m thinking about setting up another blog, devoted just to my writing and book promotion. But what about Facebook is it worth having an authors page do you think? I thought I might as well also use my back up twitter account to push the book, or maybe set up a new one.

I’m not entirely sure what I’d put on any of these. I usually try to blend into the background not draw attention to myself so this is all a bit weird. Anyone have any suggestions?

2 Responses to “Self Promotion”

  1. Sierra July 24, 2014 at 2:57 pm #

    I’m the same way – self-promoting is difficult for me because I am naturally pretty reserved, especially concerning perfect strangers – but it pays off more than if you don’t self-promote.

    Facebook is totally worth it. As is Twitter. I have more followers on Twitter than Facebook, actually, and since it’s especially dedicated to my writing, it’s got more focus and more reach.

    As far as trying to persuade people to read your book, I’m more than happy to give you a slot on my blog to spotlight and/or your book (read more here: http://wp.me/P21gs6-xo), but I’d have to see a sample of the writing first to decide if it’s a quality that I’d wanna share with my followers.

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords July 24, 2014 at 6:51 pm #

      Thank you very much; that sounds interesting. I might take you up on that once everything is finalised. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

