Book Publication and What Comes Next

22 Aug

First of all I’d like to start off by apologising for not getting around to reading and commenting on everyone’s blogs lately. Unfortunately I have been very distracted lately and when I am the blogging is one of the first things to fall by the wayside.

However, I am here now and I am officially a published author! it’s all feeling very surreal right now I can tell you. I have published my book: ‘A Spirited evening & Other Stories’ .http://www.feedaread.com/profiles/5725/

spirited

I have had to comply with with this law called legal deposit, which sounds very formal and scary; what it actually means is that I had to send a copy of my book to the British Library to be stored for prosperity; apparently it’s been going on since 1662. That is a lot of publications! So now I’m waiting for my receipt for that.

I have also had to register as self employed on HMRC ‘s website; now that was scary. So I’m also waiting for confirmation from them and my shiny new tax number. This is all far too grown up!

Let’s see what else have I been up to? Oh yes, continuing my theme of being a grown up I have been promoting my official writer’s Facebook page, with Facebook advertising! How mad is that I’m advertising. OK you can probably tell that this is possibly one of the weirdest times of my life right now.

I have also paid to have my book put into bookseller distribution, which means big places like Amazon will be selling it in roughly 3-6 weeks. 

Let’s be honest, it’s possible my book is riddled with typos (because nobody I know is a professional proof-reader) and the cover hasn’t come out quite at well in print as I’d hoped. But whatever happens, whether it sells or not, I did it. I set myself a challenge and I did it. It may not be a perfect book, but it’s my book. Besides, this process has taught me enough to help me a lot with my next book, if I ever get around to writing it.

I have actually started work on that front and I have a few half ideas I’m hoping to develop. So fingers crossed and here’s to getting the next book done and making it better yet.

2 Responses to “Book Publication and What Comes Next”

  1. Mishka Jenkins August 22, 2014 at 2:58 pm #

    Make sure to enjoy the experience, it can be easy to get bogged down by advertising and the like, but it’s such an amazing accomplishment you have to make sure and celebrate! 🙂

    Like

    • daydreaminginwords August 22, 2014 at 5:37 pm #

      Thank you, I’m trying. I have to admit I’m not as excited as I thought I’d be. Everyone said it would kick in once I held my book, but nope, nothing yet. Maybe I’m in shock lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

