Born Of Fire – Short Story -Work In Progress

13 Aug

K.B Goddard

Mr Denby looked on me with an air of displeasure.

‘I requested to see you, Mr Hunter,’ said he, ‘because I have heard something of your reputation. I am given to understand that you have some insight into matters of this kind. When I heard you were staying in the area it seemed fortuitous, and I am much obliged to you for coming so promptly.’ He paused here and drew himself upright with an appearance of inflated pomposity. ‘That being said I must confess I am rather surprised that you should bring your wife. It hardly seems to me to be a suitable discussion for a lady’ He turned a quizzical gaze upon that good lady. Louisa smiled serenely and said nothing. Though, knowing her as I do, I read a good deal in those blue eyes.

‘I assure you, sir, said I ‘That if I bring my wife…

View original post 3,510 more words

Leave a Reply

